In December 2019, a novel coronavirus that causes the condition COVID-19, began an outbreak of respiratory illness in Wuhan, Hubei Province, China. It has since had a massive impact on global business and travel. Brooks Pierce attorneys are closely monitoring the rapidly changing situation in order to provide timely guidance for our clients’ businesses. This page will be regularly updated with information that we trust will prove useful in the coming weeks.

Brooks Pierce has assembled a multi-disciplinary response team to provide up-to-date counsel on a wide variety of issues arising from the COVID-19 outbreak. Our attorneys are ready to respond to client needs during this time of uncertainty.

Published Client Alerts

Employment

Department of Labor Clarifies Scope of FFCRA
The Department of Labor (DOL) shared more insights into the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA)...

Department of Labor Answers Critical Questions About New Leave Laws Due to COVID-19 Crisis
Yesterday, March 26, the Department of Labor (DOL) issued additional guidance on how the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) will be applied...

DOL Releases Mandatory Employee Notice Under the Families First Coronavirus Response Act
On March 25, 2020, the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) published a workplace notice that covered employers...

Department of Labor Issues First Guidance on New Leave Laws
Last night the Department of Labor (DOL) issued its first guidance on how the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) will be applied...

Guidance for Employers with Salaried Employees in Response to COVID-19
Employers are faced with difficult and unpleasant choices in response to the current COVID-19 crisis...

Additional Coronavirus Guidance from EEOC
The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission has posted guidance for employers ...

New Law Requires Many Employers to Provide Job-Protected Leave and Paid Benefits for Absences Related to COVID-19
Today the U.S. Senate voted to adopt House Bill 6201 with some corrections ...

NC Governor Cooper Expands Unemployment Benefits to Workers Affected by COVID-19
On March 17, 2020, North Carolina Governor Roy Cooper issued Executive Order No. 118 ...

Important Coronavirus Guidance from EEOC
The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission has posted guidance for employers ...

Pending Legislation Would Require Job-Protected Leave and Paid Benefits for Absences Related to COVID-19
House Bill 6201 was passed by the U.S. House of Representatives with bipartisan support ...

Workplace Coronavirus Response Plans Must Comply with Applicable Employment Laws
U.S. employers recognize that COVID-19 (commonly referred to as the coronavirus) presents ...

 

Financial Relief

Guide to the COVID-19 Paycheck Protection Program and Loan Forgiveness
The Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act, or the CARES Act, has been passed by Congress and awaits signature by the President...

Guide to Golden LEAF Rapid Recovery Loan Program
The Golden LEAF Foundation is providing $15 million in funding to launch a rapid recovery loan program in response to economic losses for small businesses related to COVID-19...

Guide to SBA COVID-19 Economic Injury Disaster Loan Program
The U.S. Small Business Administration is offering low-interest federal disaster loans...

Employer Tax Relief Under COVID-19 Legislation
Much has been made of the cost to employers of the leave required by the Emergency Paid Sick Leave Act ...

 

Business Operations

Navigating the COVID-19 Crisis: Planning Tips to Avoid Business Disruption
In the evolving COVID-19 pandemic, businesses are having to re-evaluate their short-term and long-term needs.

Potential Insurance Coverage for COVID-19 Losses
As companies navigate the COVID-19 pandemic, they should take stock of existing insurance policies that may provide coverage...

Reviewing Business Contracts in Light of the COVID-19 Crisis
As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, companies are facing a wide array of business challenges, many of which would likely not have been contemplated a few weeks ago...

COVID-19 and the Increased Cybersecurity Risk in a Work-From-Home World
As COVID-19 has spread throughout the world and within the United States, companies of all sizes have had to make quick decisions about how to implement work-from-home procedures...

 

Government/Judicial Statements

COVID-19 Criminal Justice Update (April 1, 2020)
With coronavirus 
infections multiplying exponentially around the globe, countries, states, and localities are taking action to slow the spread...

NC Governor Cooper Issues Statewide "Stay at Home" Order (Critical Infrastructure and Essential Business Operations Continue)
On March 27, 2020, North Carolina Governor Roy Cooper issued Executive Order No. 121, a statewide "Stay at Home" order, which is intended to slow the spread of COVID-19 in our state...

More Judicial Updates on COVID-19
North Carolina's courts have taken further steps to address the impact of COVID-19...

Judicial Updates on COVID-19
Criminal Justice Section members should pay close attention to rapidly developing guidance from state ...

 

Education

Schools Are Closed. Now What? Guidance For North Carolina Public School Districts
In light of CDC recommendations regarding COVID-19, North Carolina Governor Cooper ...

 

Intellectual Property

USPTO Still Open, but Extends Many Trademark Deadlines Due to COVID-19
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) remains open for filings.

 

Firm Statement

Brooks Pierce's Response to COVID-19
It is now self-evident that all of us have been impacted by COVID-19 ...

 

Brooks Pierce COVID-19 Response Team

Banking/Securities/Corporate Finance

Iain MacSween
336.271.3192
imacsween@brookspierce.com

Bankruptcy/Financial Restructuring

John Small
336.271.3124
jsmall@brookspierce.com

Business Disruption/Contracts/Force Majeure

Jim Phillips
336.271.3131
jphillips@brookspierce.com

Eric David
919.573.6203
edavid@brookspierce.com

Business Loan Strategy

Sue Young
919.573.6248
syoung@brookspierce.com

Compliance with State and Local Regulations

Alex Elkan
336.271.3134
aelkan@brookspierce.com

Construction

Arty Bolick
336.271.3170
abolick@brookspierce.com

Criminal

Kearns Davis
336.271.3174
kdavis@brookspierce.com

Crisis Management & Crisis Communications

Ed West
910.444.2021
919.573.6221
ewest@brookspierce.com

Data Privacy

Will Quick
919.573.6213
wquick@brookspierce.com

Education

Jill Wilson
336.271.3130
jwilson@brookspierce.com

Employee Benefits/Retirement Plan Issues

Melissa Weaver
919.573.6235
mweaver@brookspierce.com

Employment & Labor

Natalie Sanders
336.271.3148
nsanders@brookspierce.com

Government Relations/Lobbying

Ed Turlington
919.573.6243
eturlington@brookspierce.com

Healthcare/HIPAA

Forrest Campbell
336.271.3179
fcampbell@brookspierce.com

Hospitality Industry

Tony Barwick
919.573.6254
tbarwick@brookspierce.com

Insurance Issues

Gary Parsons
919.573.6241
gparsons@brookspierce.com

Intellectual Property

David Sar
336.271.3175
dsar@brookspierce.com

International

Charles Baldwin
910.444.2020
cbaldwin@brookspierce.com

Media

Tim Nelson
919.573.6205
tnelson@brookspierce.com

 

Real Estate

Camden Betz
919.573.6252
cbetz@brookspierce.com

Tax Issues

Mark Davidson
336.271.3126
mdavidson@brookspierce.com

Adam Tarleton
336.271.3166
atarleton@brookspierce.com

Sara Vizithum
336.271.3184
svizithum@brookspierce.com


 

In the Media

Triad Business Journal - What you need to know about which businesses are essential and which aren't

Triangle Business Journal - What employment lawyers in NC are telling their clients about the coronavirus

Business North Carolina - Stimulus bill adds pressure on some small businesses, lawyer says 

Natalie Sanders answers employment law questions regarding coronavirus in the Triad Business Journal

News & Observer – NC coronavirus Q&A: How does COVID-19 affect employers and workplaces?

 

For Your Information

Brooks Pierce Hosts Webinar on Employer Response Plans in the Wake of COVID-19

NC Restaurant & Lodging Association - COVID-19 FAQ for Restaurants & Hotels

FDIC Statement on Financial Institutions Working with Customers Affected by the Coronavirus and Regulatory and Supervisory Assistance

FDIC Financial Institution Letter – Regulatory Relief: Working with Customers Affected by the Coronavirus

Small Business Administration Economic Injury Disaster Loan Program